(Archibald Paul Akeley, Potter County Schools superintendent and trustee) - Completed in 1930 and formerly known as the Campus School, this building contains classrooms, the department of Business and Computer Science offices, computer laboratories, and the Office of the Dean of the Poorman College of Business, Information Systems & Human Services.
(Deborah M. Bentley, college dietician, 1923-1957) - A food service building, opened in 1966. More than 800 students can be served at one sitting in the dining area. Also in this building are the faculty/staff dining facility and the Bentley food court and convenience store. Completely renovated in 2007 to include three conference rooms on the street level.
(Ron and JoAnn Bowes) - Houses football athletic coaches’ offices. Bowes Hall was renamed in May of 2016 in honor of long-time LHU donors, Ronald (’66) and JoAnn Bowes. Bowes Hall was completely renovated in the summer of 2014.
is an apartment complex for students who wish to live in a more traditional atmosphere. 170 students can call Campus Village their LHU home.
It is located 66 miles from LHU main campus in Lawrence Township, Clearfield County. It was originally opened in 1991 at a different location to support nursing classes. The popularity and the need grew so the Clearfield Founders Hall was built in 2001 followed by second building in 2009. Classes are currently held there as well as by distance ed between there and main.
Durrwachter Alumni Conference Center
(Dr. George, alumnus 1961 and trustee, and Mrs. Shirley Durrwachter) – Office of Alumni Relations, Admissions, University Foundation Office, Department of Marketing and Communications. This facility also includes rooms for conferences, receptions and large public gatherings, and is available for various functions. The Durrwachter is available to the public for rental.
East Campus Science Center J and G Buildings
Purchased from Keystone Central School District in 2003, East Campus is comprised of an administration/classroom building; a gymnasium building housing a food service area, classrooms, and a gymnasium. The Gym Building is in the process to be approved for a renovation. The buildings house Purchasing and Business Office, Human Resources, Social Equity, the sciences and criminal justice. The East Campus Science Center was a brand new building at East Campus and opened its doors Fall, 2013.
Located on North Fairview Street, this non-traditional housing complex opened its doors in the Fall of 2012. These suite-style rooms can house up to 686 students.
(Katherine A. Glennon, R.N., college nurse, 1941-1967) - Completed in 1967, the infirmary has staff members available Monday through Friday during classes. Public Safety is housed in half of this building and provides campus security, parking control, and other safety services 24/7.
Global Honors House
Built in 1940 was the home for the Lock Haven State Teachers College Maintenance Superintendent. After 1990 this 3,435 square foot building has various uses, but in 2010 was turned over to the Global Honors Program.
(Jesse Scott Himes, elementary education teacher, 1920-1936) - Himes was completed in 1961 for use as a Special Education building. Today, it houses the department of Recreation Management.
(Hubert H. Jack, professor of health and physical education, coach of football and wrestling, 1943-1968) - Completed in 1975, the football field, locker rooms, and an all-weather track provide facilities for instructional, intramural, and intercollegiate programs. Since initial construction, artificial turf has been added to the football field. The stadium complex also features an eight-lane track and complete lighting system.
Parsons Union Building
(Richard T. Parsons, Ed.D., alumnus '31, president, 1942-1970) - Completed in 1968, expanded and rededicated in 1993, the Student Union contains the LHU Store, Student Activities Office, Eagle Eye student newspaper as well as several other student organizations. Recreation facilities include a game room, TV viewing, conference rooms and a commuter lounge. Major renovations to this building were completed in 2016.
Price Performance Center
(Philip M. Price, donor of land on which the university was originally built) - The center, constructed in 1938, has a seating capacity of 672 and was completely renovated and reopened in 1989. Price Performance Center is used for cultural performances, student-sponsored entertainment including but not limited to movies and comedians and student testing and evaluation. A complete renovation to this building was done in the summer of 2017.
(Albert N. Raub, Ph.D., first principal of Central State Normal School, 1877-1884) - Completed in 1964, this classroom building also houses the department of History, Political Science, and Foreign Language, and the department of English. This building features a state-of-the-art distance education classroom which is used often for classes between main campus and Clearfield.
(Gerald R. Robinson, Ed.D., professor, dean of instruction, Provost/Executive Vice President, 1954-1976) - This seven-story multi-purpose building was completed in 1981. It houses the departments of IT, Education-PreK-8 and Professional Studies, Special Education, Sport Studies, Psychology, Mathematics, and Communications and Philosophy. The building also contains the Hamblin Hall of Flags, a television studio, a radio station, and a developmental mathematics facility devoted to remediation and placement testing. Robinson has been approved for a complete renovation in the near future. All departments currently housed in Robinson will be returned except for the IT department which will be moved to Stevenson and Smith and Communication which will be moved to Sloan and Ulmer.
(James H. Rogers, alumnus '49, an athlete, World War II veteran, and popular high school teacher who died shortly after receiving his degree) - This is the oldest building on campus dating from 1896 and is used for classes in physical education, intramurals, sport practice and weight training. It is also the only building on campus named after a student.
Sloan Fine Arts Building
(John Sloan, internationally renowned artist, born in Lock Haven) - Completed in 1973, the building contains classrooms, practice rooms, art studios, faculty offices, a small theatre, and a large theatre for student and professional performances and lectures. Housed here is the department of Visual and Performing Arts, and Dean of the College of Liberal Arts and Education.
(Samuel Jacob Smith, teacher of math, 1927-1958) - Completed in 1960, Smith Hall houses up to 250 students, includes single units, and is located on the lower part of the campus. Smith Hall was renovated during the 2018-19 fiscal year.
(George B. Stevenson, graduate 1906, state senator, trustee) - The library, completed in 1969, contains books, journals, DVDs, educational curriculum materials, media equipment, and other collections; space for individual and group study; and desktop and laptop computers. Librarians provide research assistance, in-class instruction, and consultations. The second floor holds the University Archive, the Helen Burgess Terrill Archive Treasury Room and the new Stephanie A. Wollock Learning Commons, which includes the University Writing Center and the Schantz Tutorial Center, and collaborative study spaces. The Academic Technology Department is on the ground floor. A new entryway was completed during the Summer of 2017. In the coming months, the IT help desk employees will be moved to Stevenson.
Student Recreation Center (SRC)
opened its doors in April 2002. The 42,825 sq. foot facility has been a significant addition to student life at LHU. The SRC houses three multipurpose courts which can be used for basketball, volleyball, tennis or badminton. Also included in the building is a dance/exercise room for aerobics, yoga and other isolated programs. A fitness room is available for use with free weights, nautilus-style machines, and dumbbells. A 1/9th mile track is also located in the facility. An indoor climbing wall, standing at a height of 30’, is available for use by LHU students. Memberships to use the facilities within the SRC is available for purchase to the public.
(David W. Thomas, M.D., alumnus 1906 trustee) - This facility, built in 1938, was completely renovated in 1984. It is used for the teaching of physical education classes, sport practices and competition, and intramural activities. It contains a large wrestling room, main arena, press box, training rooms, offices for faculty and coaches, classrooms, and locker/shower accommodations. The Director of Athletics, Director of Sports Information, and the offices of a number of coaches are located here.
(Levi J. Ulmer, science and geography teacher, 1918-1941) - The main building, constructed in 1950 with a large addition added in 1968 included a planetarium, classrooms, labs and offices. Ulmer was renovated in 1996. This building was previously the main science building until construction of the East Campus Science Center. Ulmer now contains the office of Financial Aid, Student Accounts, Registrar, Dean of Residence and Student Life, Institute for International Studies, Center for Career and Professional Development, ROTC, Center for Excellence and Inclusion, the Department of Academic Development and Counseling, the Pennsylvania State Athletic Conference Office and LHU’s offices of Senior Administration. Major renovations were completed in Ulmer over the summers of 2014 and 2015. The LHU seal was added to the main front of the building. In the near future, as part of the Robinson renovation project, the planetarium (which is no longer used in this capacity) will be converted into radio and tv stations for communication classes.
Willis Health Professions Center
(Craig Dean Willis, President, 1982-2004) – Purchased from Keystone Central School District in 2006. This 43,146 square foot building contains the departments of Health Sciences, Physician Assistant, and the Facilities Maintenance Shop.
(Harold D. Woolridge, alumnus '11, trustee, 1932-1960) - Completed in 1964 and housing 200 students, Woolridge Hall is located on the lower part of the university campus. A major deferred maintenance renovation project was completed during the summer of 2017.
(Elizabeth K. Zimmerli, Ed.D., director of health and physical education, 1946-1966) - Completed in 1970, contains three teaching gymnasiums, a swimming pool, dressing/locker/shower facilities, offices for the department of Sports Studies and Health and Physical Education, and classrooms.